About EMS

About EMS
About EMS 2018-11-19T15:32:21+00:00

Welcome to Grainger County EMS!

Grainger County Ambulance Authority, also known as Grainger County Emergency Medical Service, is a licensed municipal ambulance service in the State of Tennessee founded in 1978. We are a taxpayer based service operating from the Grainger County General Fund with an operating budget approved yearly by the County Commission and overseen by the County Mayor and EMS Director. Grainger County encompasses approximately 302 total square miles (281 square miles of land and 22 square miles of water) and serves a population of near 23,000 residents. Utilizing four strategically placed stations we are proud to provide around-the-clock advanced life support emergency and non-emergency medical services to the communities of Bean Station, Blaine, Rutledge, Thorn Hill, Powder Springs, Washburn, Joppa, and surrounding areas. We utilize a fleet of eight ambulances and two support vehicles staffed by Advanced Emergency Medical Technicians, Paramedics, and Critical Care Paramedics to respond to approximately 4,000 requests for service each year.

Grainger County EMS is proud to have among the most progressive equipment and clinical treatment guidelines in the region that enable us to provide a high level of care to those we serve. Our advanced treatment guidelines include rapid sequence intubation, surgical airways, sedation, and pain management. Among the equipment our exceptional healthcare providers utilize are the Zoll AutoPulse, Zoll Cardiac Monitor/Defibrillator, Stryker PowerPro XT Stretcher, and the O-Two Systems CAREvent ALS automatic transport resuscitator.

Our mission is to create an employee-centered, innovative, and progressive service with passionate individuals committed to the sustainability or rural EMS and the delivery of superior patient care to the citizens of Grainger County, TN.

Our vision is to facilitate the sustainability of rural EMS – particularly that of Grainger County EMS – through means of education, recruitment, and retention of passionate individuals dedicated to success and to the value of the services we provide. Grainger County EMS is a member of the Tennessee Region 2 EMS Director’s Association, Tennessee Ambulance Association, Knox East Tennessee Regional Health Coalition, and the American Ambulance Association.

On behalf of myself and my staff we thank you for allowing us the opportunity to serve you. It’s both a privilege and an honor to be invited into our patient’s lives during their time of need.

If we can ever be of assistance to you please don’t hesitate to reach out to our office at 865-828-3682.

Derek Chambers – EMS Director

Important Information

Emergency: 911

Grainger County Dispatch:

Grainger County EMS
270 Justice Center Drive | Suite 101

P.O. Box 499
Rutledge, TN 37861

Main: (865) 828-3682
Fax: (865) 828-3713

Station Locations:

Medic 1 :
199 Cambridge Ave
Rutledge, TN 37861

Medic 2:
425 Little Boy Circle
Bean Station, TN 37708

Medic 3:
141 Washburn Road
Washburn, TN 37888

Medic 4:
210 Webster Road
Blaine, TN 37709

Derek Chambers B.S., NRP, CCP
Director of EMS
Grainger County, TN.
Office: 865-828-3682
Fax: 865-828-3713

Latest News

President’s Day

February 12th, 2019|0 Comments

Grainger County Governmental Offices will be closed Monday February 18th, 2019 in observance of President's Day.  Offices will re-open on Tuesday February 19th, 2019.

Recent Posts